BREAKING: Makaha’s Yancy Medeiros Joins Max Holloway On UFC 212 Card In Brazil

24 March 2017 | 1:21 pm

One of the biggest nights in Hawaii Mixed Martial Arts history will have an added Aloha State flare.

Makaha’s Yancy Medeiros (13-4, 4-4) signed a contract to fight on the UFC 212 card headlined by Waianae Coast native Max Holloway, who will face Jose Aldo in a unification bout for the UFC Featherweight title in Brazil.

KHON2 Sports Director Rob DeMello confirmed with Medeiros that the 29 year old will face-off with Erick Silva in a welterweight match up on June 3rd.

“Westside boys gonna rep Hawaii in Brazil” Medeiros told DeMello, Thursday evening.

Yancy Medeiros / Courtesy: UFC

Medeiros, who appeared at lightweight in his first eight UFC fights successfully made his debut at welterweight with a second round TKO victory over Sean Spencer on September 10th, and has won four of his last six fights.

Silva, is 19-7 in his career and will also be coming off of a victory, having beaten Luan Chagas on September 24th via third round submission.

The main event that evening at the Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, will feature Holloway (17-3), who won the UFC interim featherweight title in December squaring-off with the future Hall of Famer Aldo.

Aldo, a Brazil native, who beat Frankie Edgar for the UFC title at UFC 200 this past July.

Aldo holds the UFC record for most featherweight title defenses with seven, running from 2011-2014.

Holloway is riding a ten fight win streak, which is the fourth longest active streak and fifth longest in UFC history.

UFC Winning Streaks:

Anderson Silva – 16 (2006-12)
Jon Jones – 13 (2010-present)
Georges St. Pierre – 12 (2007-present)
Demetrious Johnson – 11 (2012-present)
Royce Gracie – 11 (1993-94)
Max Holloway – 10 (2014-present)

Featherweight Championship – Jose Aldo (c)  vs.  Max Holloway (ic)
Middleweight – Anderson Silva  vs.  Kelvin Gastelum
Women’s Strawweight – Cláudia Gadelha  vs.  Karolina Kowalkiewicz
Bantamweight – Johnny Eduardo  vs.  Matthew Lopez
Flyweight – Marco Beltrán  vs.  Deiveson Alcântara
Welterweight – Yancy Medeiros vs. Erick Silva
Middleweight  Antônio Carlos Júnior  vs.  Eric Spicely

Source link